Geneal NEWS

FUT Minna to analyze data of 2217 households on immigration

The West African Science Service Center on Climate Change and Land Use Adjustment, WASCAL, of the Federal University of Technology, FUT, Minna, Niger State collected data from a total of 2217 households to analyze the causes of migration in Nigeria.

WASCAL Director, FUT Minna, Professor Appolonia Okhimamhe made the disclosure during the center’s 10th anniversary at Gidan Kwano’s main campus. He said the data was collected from 17 focus group discussions and 20 in-depth interviews in collaboration with other partners in the country.

She explained that from the data collected, a modular knowledge and skills education and training program will be jointly developed and implemented by WASCAL on how to access and manage the impact of climate and global change on rural, urban and cross-border migration.

“WASCAL FUT Minna is the hub that will consider training future decision makers and knowledge holders on climate migration,” the director noted.

Prof. Okhimami also said that the center succeeded in graduating 30 master’s students within six years with Nigeria recording the highest enrollment rate, followed by the Republic of Benin and Ghana, even with the commencement of the Ph.D.

In his remarks, Vice-Chancellor, FUT, MENA, Professor Farouk Adamu Kota said that the center was set up at the university and funded by the German government to deal specifically with emerging problems associated with climate change, especially at the grassroots level.

He stated that a concerted effort is being made to address climate change issues in the communities across the 25 local governments in the state.

Also, the Chairman of the WASCAL Board of Directors, Prof. Mohamed Haseru from the Republic of Niger who has led board members from other West African countries, noted that the main purpose of setting up the center is to train students from the West African sub-region and other stakeholders in order to properly incorporate the challenges of climate change. Best in sustainable development policies, projects and programmes.

The center includes 11 member states in West Africa, including the Republic of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Togo, Gambia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria and Senegal.

FUT Minna to analyze data of 2217 households on immigration

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button